£200,000 boost for Scotland's social enterprise development agency

March 24, 2015

Scotland’s social enterprise development agency, Firstport, is celebrating a £200,000 funding boost from Resilient Scotland to continue its social replication programme, Ditto. The funding will enable Firstport to roll out Ditto to 13 local authority areas* and will play a vital role in creating employment by promoting a low-risk route to starting a social enterprise.

Sarah Bolland of Coffee and Craic Sarah Bolland of Coffee and Craic

Since January 2014 Ditto has helped nine social entrepreneurs set up new businesses in Edinburgh, Glasgow, Fife and Dundee. These social enterprises have created local jobs, volunteering places and encouraged people to use and develop local assets.

Chris Holloway, Head of Resilient Scotland said: “Resilient Scotland is delighted to be reinvesting in Ditto. Through the support provided by Firstport, new start social entrepreneurs will have a real opportunity to contribute to the regeneration of their local areas.”

Karen McGregor, Chief Executive of Firstport said: “Over the last few years we have seen consumers become more ethically-driven in the decisions they make. Recent economic, political, and social factors have combined to drive a stronger awareness of, and interest in social entrepreneurship and its proven potential to tackle social issues. Through our Ditto programme we can help social enterprise play a bigger role in society, transforming lives, communities and the economy.”

Social entrepreneur, Sarah Bolland, who owns Coffee and Craic, Glasgow’s first Gaelic cafe received funding and support from Ditto last year. 

Sarah said: “Getting onto Firstport’s Ditto programme meant that I received the support, guidance and funding I needed to see my plans become a reality. Coffee and Craic is going from strength to strength and I couldn’t have done it without Firstport’s help.” 

More information at www.firstport.org.uk/projects/ditto

*Ditto has launched in the following areas:

East Ayrshire
Edinburgh (existing area)
Fife (existing area)
Glasgow (existing area)
North Ayrshire
North Lanarkshire
South Lanarkshire
West Dunbartonshire
West Lothian